4 thoughts on “Birds in London: Mystery Duck

    • Thanks Steve! And I’ve been meaning to reply to your earlier comments…
      I’ve been back in Berlin for a bit over a week, but thanks to a bad cold (not helped by photographing coots in the London rain) and demands of regular life have only now been getting the photos up and back into the birding life.
      Thank you so much for the detailed descriptions of all you saw in the Tiergarten. It really is a pleasure to hear from more experienced birders like yourself. You’ve given me a lot to look forward to this weekend. I am excited to go in search of the Icterine Warbler! (Although I’m not sure that I’ll be able to distinguish it from other warblers, but you’ll hear more of that later.)
      By the way, do you keep a birding blog, or anything like it? I’d be curious to know what you are seeing in Devon.

      Best,
      Adrienne

      • Hi Adrienne

        Good luck with the Icterine Warbler. Really interesting and varied song. Worth watching You Tube or similar first to get to grips with the song as the birds we saw were typically quite elusive and high in a tree – although the second was lower down and more confiding (they were both quite near the floral displays in Tiergarten if that helps).
        The Wood Warblers are easier to find as they have a very distinctive song/ trill – and we have them in spring/ summer in our local wood. Again worth listening to on you tube first – sorry if I’m teaching you to suck eggs here if you know Wood Warblers well.
        I did also see a Black Redstart on the Reichstag when we were in Berlin – they are quite rare in the UK.

        I don’t have my own blog (I probably should) as I only get out at weekends due to work commitments. I do submit my sightings to http://www.wildlifeindevon.co.uk. We live on Dartmoor National Park so we have some interesting birds locally (and in our garden).
        A walk on the moors on Sunday 5 mins from home produced a Hobby, Cuckoos, Wheatears, Whinchats etc and we have omni present Great Spotted Woodpeckers in our garden on the feeders plus Nuthatches, a family of Siskins and a Bullfinch a few days ago.

        We really miss Berlin though and vowed to go back ASAP.
        Look forward to reading your blog to see what you see in the coming weeks – Tiergarten is probably at its peak bird wise now.

        Kind regards

        Steve Hearn

  1. Pingback: Icterine Warbler | Birds in Berlin

Leave a comment